The She Rises Yet Again Post

I decided that for the year 2017, I shall return to my blogging duties.  I retired myself for a bit of time while dealing with irksome issues that zapped my joy in life and all its occasional pitfalls.  Thankfully, I read the works of lots of talented bloggers whilst in my funk. I had wonderful words to read and excellent messages to ponder.  My blogger friends remind me, always, that there are still wonderful, marvelous, and sometimes astounding stuff that is still out there waiting for me to discover it.  I am out of my slump, peoples, and ready to be verbal once more.  I rise to the challenge yet again.

Doesn’t that sound uplifting and all Hallmarkish?  It should.  I meant it to sound that way.  The truer version of things is I need something better to do than watch while greed and malice destroys a country I kind of like and tarnishes a world that depended on sensible folks like us to use our brains very carefully when voting for a president.  To say I am disappointed in some of the folks in my home country is a truth.  To know that in our nation a level of evangelical bigotry, vile racism, and flat-out willful ignorance exists in great numbers irks me to the core. 

The level of ignorance about American civics in the USA is atrocious.  From our newly elected president on down, the level of knowledge of how our government is structured, why it is structured that way, and how that applies to today’s world is lacking big time.  How can you be a thoughtful voter if you don’t even know how your government came into being and how it operates?  How can you be a patriot to a government whose history and structure you know nothing about?  How can you salute its flag, pledge your life to defend its shores, or proudly represent a nation if you are ignorant of the very basics that our country is build upon?

We are a country that provides free public libraries.  Our society also has dozens of ways to upgrade one’s base education and increase one’s knowledge of our country and our society.  The library offers anyone a free source of reading and research materials.  So many folks in this country never read a book after graduating high school.  Many folks here in the USA get their news via friends telling them what to think, rather than using the mind their god gave them and the resources available in their communities to check out the information they receive to make sure it is true and accurate. 

People who should know better are getting what they consider news from commentary posts.  Facebook, Twitter, and in the biased faux news posts from special interest groups who will purposely lie to snag your interest in their viewpoint.  It has gotten to the point where some cable news outlets (I shall not name because you all know who they are.) pump up their news reports with false statistics, results, and refuse to accurately report what someone said in front of a working camera.  Journalists are now less credible in our minds, because some of their colleagues have developed a very bad habit of becoming a news creator rather than a reporter of facts.  This is not good for a country which relies on a free and unbiased press to keep its citizens informed.

OK,  that is my rant for today.  I love this country.  I’ve experienced an enjoyable childhood and an interesting life.  I got blessed, and I appreciate that fact.  I want everyone to have the freedom to make their lives be something to celebrate when they have time to ponder about the years they have spent residing on this fine planet. Happiness is one of those fleeting moment things.  It comes and it goes.  Do what makes you happy, peoples.  Those are the memories that are the steel that supports everything else your soul will face before it journeys elsewhere.

About Rennie

Welcome to my blog. My name is Rennie. I am 66 years old, retired, and married to a truck loving guy named Dave. We live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest within the state of Oregon, USA. We are a household of two humans and one senior citizen kitty. I named my blog after two things I love to do. MuddiWorks is what I call my studio (a.k.a. extra room in our house where I keep all my art stuff). Kitchen Spurts is the term I came up with to describe my forays into the kitchen to cook. I am presently involved in the exploration of what it's like to be a financially insecure retired person. My blogs will be about things that interest me, amuse me, or irk me. My blog is my vent place.
This entry was posted in ageing, family, making life work in your favor, Miscellaneous, Rants, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

