The Crabby Post

We are more than halfway through the month of March, and I haven’t posted anything for ages.  This is not a good thing, peoples, as I am generally a prolific and verbose writing machine.  I just haven’t felt a passionate urge, as of late, to write about stuff.  This is, possibly, because of a growth spurt that I’ve recently experienced in the area of my acerbic female attitude.  I have no other believable excuses to offer for my lack of posts; and, I am not even sorry for abandoning my bloggering while I deal with age related hassles.

This is my present senior citizen dilemma:  I thought by the time I reached my “golden years”, I would morph into some sort of saintly grandmotherly being.  I’m supposed to have developed a charitable heart the size of Texas.  I am supposed to have lost the need to waste an iota of my self-absorption time judging the stupid things other people do to mess up their lives. I’m supposed to be nicer, kinder, and more understanding of any and all flaws my fellow humans may exhibit within the vicinity of my notice.  I am supposed to be mellow and accepting and wise, but I’m not.

I am finding that the older I’ve grown, the less I care about saying what is expected of me.  I suppose that  the former politically correct, eager to please everyone disposition of the younger moi has been covertly rusting into that of a moody, rebellious, semi-crabby, old lady who speaks her mind without sugar-coating her words using verbiage designed to make sure other folks DO get their feelings hurt.

Of course, I don’t want folks to think I have become a total dipshit.   I am just aging gracelessly, peoples!

Yep, I will probably not be in the running, any time soon, for evolving into the planet’s next Mother Theresa.  People piss me off, and I am, apparently, unwilling to forgive and forget. I am a crabby, mean senior citizen. Screechy voiced children, small,  yappy dogs, and conservative republican politicians should probably fear my grumpiness as I am a volcano of savage mean not yet erupted.

Recently, I confessed to my sister, Judy, that I used to be one of those. kindly, caring gals who went out of her way to maintain a staunch “political correctness” in her dealings with the more questionable behaviors displayed by her fellow humans.  I tried, mostly always, not to openly condemn others to the bowels of Hades when what they said or did irked me.  I maintained an ever chipper faith that in every human being, there is a spark of goodness that just needed to be nudged into bloom. It was my duty to devote time, effort, and understanding so that the little dot of hidden goodness could burst into being, making the world a better place for all.

I was once nice, damn it!  Now, I am less so.  It perplexes me that I am capable of such a negative attitude change.  I am, at present, feeling like Alice in Wonderland’s Red Queen at her meanest.  If allowed,  I would be ordering beheadings and banishments at an alarming rate.

I have lost my patience with all the world’s dumb asses, peoples.  I’ve grown tired of waiting for them to grow up and live their lives as I believe they should live them.  I literally want to force my personal belief system down the throats of all who I encounter.  All must live up to MY expectations.  I want to dominate the world with only my point of view……..

I told you all that I’m a bit crabby today, right?

About Rennie

Welcome to my blog. My name is Rennie. I am 66 years old, retired, and married to a truck loving guy named Dave. We live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest within the state of Oregon, USA. We are a household of two humans and one senior citizen kitty. I named my blog after two things I love to do. MuddiWorks is what I call my studio (a.k.a. extra room in our house where I keep all my art stuff). Kitchen Spurts is the term I came up with to describe my forays into the kitchen to cook. I am presently involved in the exploration of what it's like to be a financially insecure retired person. My blogs will be about things that interest me, amuse me, or irk me. My blog is my vent place.
This entry was posted in ageing, family, Humor, making life work in your favor, Miscellaneous, Rants, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Crabby Post

  1. Dawn says:

    Crabby or not, my dear aunt, you still crack me up. Love and hugs to help sooth the savage beastie within – if just for a little while. Oh, and don’t feel alone. Crabbiness is not the sole plight of those wiser for their years. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

