A Winter Weary Blogger Returns

flu-sickIt’s time for me to return to blogging. I haven’t been blogging regularly because I’ve been dealing with my winter doldrums by binge watching Hulu and sleeping in. Winter is not my favorite season. I dislike the short, dark days and the colder weather. I don’t deal well with frost, ice, or snow unless I can observe said climatic conditions from the warmth and comfort of my home. Observing winter through the window while sipping a mug of something steamy hot and comforting, is a doable thing, even if you are in a funk.

You know what, peoples; there is a  pestilence of the winter season that irks me mightily. That pestilence is the common cold.  No matter what I do, I end up catching one or two colds during the winter months. This is not a good thing.

At my present age, which is a few days before 65 years of existence upon this fine planet,  I find that I have become a beacon to every killer cold germ that I come into contact with. My lungs seem to enjoy the challenge of going to battle against the dark forces of the evil, Viral Empire. If I have not stated this fact in past blogs, I admit it freely in today’s written offering; my lungs possess little common sense.

For me, a cold can easily develop into an epic health battle.  The mind penning this blog resides in a body containing a set of compromised lungs. When I catch a cold, my ability to process enough useful air in order to run the rest of my vital organs receives a health smack down. You think asthma is difficult on one’s health? Just try experiencing asthma attached to a fully developed viral cold.

On this very day, as I am still in recovery mode from one of the most vicious colds I’ve experienced in some time, it occurred to me that I have stumbled upon an excellent opportunity to get preachy with those other humans on the planet who make bad choices like coming to work sick, and sharing their miserable sick germs with their innocent coworkers. I hate you people for the selfish stupidity you demonstrate. Stay at home until you are no longer sick or, if that is not a doable thing for you, at least do as the Japanese do, wear a protective medical mask and put a barrier between your viral germs and the rest of us.  Give your coworkers a fighting chance to avoid you like the plague ships you are.

There, I feel better now that I’ve vented. Oh, and while I’m at it, I also think that you parents who refuse to vaccinate your children against the awful array of childhood diseases that can kill and devastate other humans including your own little darlings, are some of the most selfish humans in existence. Holy heck, you idiots!  If you love your kids, spare them the opportunity of losing their precious young lives or health to a disease which is easily preventable with the proper vaccination.

Show some consideration to the community of folks around you by preventing the spread of diseases that can be avoided through vaccination.  Those who refuse to vaccinate their children are the cause of diseases like measles making a return to our country.  Measles, peoples!  Measles outbreaks are occurring here in the USA directly attributable to children whose parents neglected or made the choice not to vaccinate their kids.

We are all stuck on this planet in an unspoken alliance as a species, peoples.  How things should work is that we consider how our individual choices impact the other guy’s life.  Other guys and their hopes, dreams, and plans are just as significant as our own.  We are individuals, yes.  Every human on the planet probably has  a right to ignore the stop signs, spit on the sidewalks, forget to feed the dogs, and forward email chain letters to their coworkers.  However, in my opinion, none of us has the right to ignore our obligations to the rest of us. Vaccination saves lives. Not just your life, but the lives of the members of your community who depend on you to do the right thing.

Here are some resources to educate our minds:

Immunization  defined:  good information explaining how immunization works.  Lots of other links to articles that explain the process and the effect immunization against preventable diseases has made on the world. Wikipedia, you rock!!

Vaccine-preventable diseases information related to diseases that can be prevented by immunization vaccines.  Lots of good info here.  Thanks Wikipedia.

The Battle to Beat Polio BBC Documentary : excellent documentary that revisits the devastation polio, a now preventable disease through childhood vaccination, made on the world. Thank you YouTube.

Should I Vaccinate My Child? Pediatrician, Jolie Edwards, explains why parents should get their child immunized against preventable viral diseases. She also addresses the question of measles vaccination causing ADD in children. Thank you YouTube.

About Rennie

Welcome to my blog. My name is Rennie. I am 66 years old, retired, and married to a truck loving guy named Dave. We live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest within the state of Oregon, USA. We are a household of two humans and one senior citizen kitty. I named my blog after two things I love to do. MuddiWorks is what I call my studio (a.k.a. extra room in our house where I keep all my art stuff). Kitchen Spurts is the term I came up with to describe my forays into the kitchen to cook. I am presently involved in the exploration of what it's like to be a financially insecure retired person. My blogs will be about things that interest me, amuse me, or irk me. My blog is my vent place.
This entry was posted in Feed your mind, Humor, Miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Winter Weary Blogger Returns

  1. It’s wonderful meeting you from Austin’s blog party. I hope you feel better soon and absolutely agree about getting vaccinated and not spreading the flu. Take care of yourself and spring will be here before we know it. 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

