The What I’ve Been Up To Post

OK, so we are deep inside the month of November already.  I haven’t posted a darn word for some time because I’ve been piddling away my time doing other non-blogger kind of stuff.  I guess I will just update us all on what I have been doing since last I blogged.

mehaircut

Love my new haircut!

I got a haircut in late October. This was a radical move on my part.  I had to traverse to a mall to get the job done.  I haven’t been to a mall in over six years or more.  I haven’t cut my hair in over seven years.  I wore my long hair in a braid down my back, Hippie style.  It was an easy to deal with hairstyle.  Who doesn’t like the ancient hippie look?

Mr. Dave, in one of his madcap attempts to keep me from becoming a totally housebound weirdo, decided that I should have my hair professionally dealt with.  He knew just the person to perform that miracle transformation.  He loaded my scooter into Earl the truck and we headed off to Portland’s coolest mall, Lloyd Center,  where a brave soul named Heather performed the deed.

Epic haircut, peoples!  It just falls into place after washing.  I can blow dry it and go.  An added good thing was that I was able to donate all that long hair  to Locks of Love, an organization that processes donated hair into wigs for cancer patients.

After the haircut, Mr. Dave and I visited the food court for lunch.  Instead of sit down restaurants, the mall has an area where there are a number of shops which offer a variety of cuisine choices.  Dining at a food court was a new experience for me.  Back in the days when I was a frequent mall shopper, if you decided to have your lunch at the mall, you did it inside a restaurant with waitresses serving you.  The food court experience requires that you to find an empty table, go to the shop of your choice, purchase your food, truck it back to your table and enjoy.

I have to say that I enjoyed my first ever food court experience. The most difficult part was trying to decide what cuisine type to indulge in.  So many choices.  I especially liked the dining area.  It was bright and filled with sunshine thanks to the glass ceiling panels overhead.  I dined on sushi and Mr. Dave had Chinese.  Our table overlooked the ice skating rink two floors below.  We watched the ice skaters taking classes and enjoyed the warmth of the sunshine.  It was an excellent experience.

After our meal, we meandered through the mall and window shopped.  I was pleased at how scooter friendly Lloyd Center is.  I encountered a number of folks using electronic medical devices to get around.  I didn’t feel out-of-place at all.

I also produced my annual batch of Halloween cookies.  I managed to get them baked and decorated before Halloween day!  Halloween pretty much begins the holiday season for us; thus, something quite special must be done to celebrate all things spooky.  This year, instead of gingerbread, I made my cookies using a standard sugar cookie dough.  The recipe for both the dough and the royal icing I used to decorate my cookie masterpieces can be found on the Karen’s Cookies website.  Click <Here> to go there!

Halloween 2014

Halloween 2014

Black cats and bats!!!

Black cats and bats!!!

 

 

 

 

 

We had an unexpected machine breakdown in the last two weeks that caused massive irksomeness for all parties involved.  A winter storm warning telling us to expect high Arctic winds with a good possibility of icy, rainy, snowy sorts of storms was issued by whomever issues such things in our area of the world.  No problem.  We have centralized gas heating!  Naturally, the Dave and Rennie luck cycle was not operating in our favor at this particular time. After turning on the heat in preparation for the colder temps to come, we learned that our furnace was not working properly.  It kept turning itself off rather than on.  This was not a good thing.

Our gas company, provides a once-a-year free repair of minor furnace issues.  Mr. Dave decided we would have them come out and take a look at the furnace and, hopefully, get it fixed for free.  My job was to call the gas company and set up an appointment.  My goal was to have them come out that very day.

As many of you consistent readers are aware, Mr. Dave loves the cold.  I am sure in one of his previous incarnations he was a fun-loving penguin living on a piece of floating glacier somewhere in Antarctica.  I am the opposite.  I do not like the cold.  I put on layers of extra clothing, including a hood and piled on the blankets for the duration of our furnace crisis.

The senior citizen kitties detest the cold. To a man, they behaved poorly throughout the furnace crisis.  They glared at Mr. Dave like it was all his fault.  Some of them tried to perform  feline mind melds with him in order to alert Mr. Dave’s conscious mind to the fact that the God of Heat had left the building and something needed to be done to bring him back, pronto.  They tried in all ways possible to alert  Mr. Dave to the fact that they were cold and they didn’t like it one bit.  This included them taking turns sitting on the heat registers and making annoying grumble sounds while maintaining a contemptuous glare in the direction of Mr. Dave.

Because several zillion other folks were also having furnace issues at the same time we were, I was unable to get an appointment with the gas company until Friday. Mind you, it was Monday when we discovered the furnace was broken.  Mr. Dave, always the eternal optimist, hoped we could wait it out until Friday.

The cats and I tried to be supportive of Mr. Dave’s Plan A approach to our dilemma.  Those of us who did not have a job with a working furnace to escape to  prepared for the worst case scenario–death by frostbite.  The cats and I had a group hug, relived all the great times we had spent together, made our wills, tried to truly forgive each others past transgressions, and then piled on the blankets.

Fortunately, after one night of experiencing household temps in the low 50’s, Mr. Dave decided that his Plan A approach was not a good idea.  He was so cold all night that even he couldn’t stand it!  Mr. Dave does have a working internal temperature thingy, peoples!!!  His is just set way lower than the average warm-blooded mammal.  This is a good thing to know for future reference.

Mr. Dave decided to go with a quickly formed Plan B–call a repairman and damn the cost!  Finding an available furnace repairman  during an arctic storm warning is not the easiest undertaking.  Mr. Dave spent the better part of the morning making calls.  He finely found a guy that could fit us in, and the furnace was eventually fixed.  It took a day and a half for the house to warm up enough so that we could put away the coats and extra blankets.

So, that’s what happened at our house in the last few weeks, peoples.  Hope you all are hanging in there and experiencing lots of happy  life moments that you can relive later on in life when you have time to reflect.  I wish you all a wonderful holiday season to come. Will post something new soon…..

 

About Rennie

Welcome to my blog. My name is Rennie. I am 66 years old, retired, and married to a truck loving guy named Dave. We live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest within the state of Oregon, USA. We are a household of two humans and one senior citizen kitty. I named my blog after two things I love to do. MuddiWorks is what I call my studio (a.k.a. extra room in our house where I keep all my art stuff). Kitchen Spurts is the term I came up with to describe my forays into the kitchen to cook. I am presently involved in the exploration of what it's like to be a financially insecure retired person. My blogs will be about things that interest me, amuse me, or irk me. My blog is my vent place.
This entry was posted in Cats, Cookies, Cooking, Halloween, Humor, Miscellaneous, Rants, Uncategorized, Updates and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

