The Updating Goes On

sign01

I’m still in the process of fixing links that got broken as well as some HTML atrocities which occurred when I exported my old blog from Blogger to its new home here at WordPress.  As soon as I get that chore completed, I will be a happy camper. I will also have the time to produce and post some new content.  I am so dang OCD about having those past postings  behaving properly.  As well, I’m suffering through testing all links associated with those postings. Relinking any broken links to content that is still present on the Internet has been interesting as I discover even more cool stuff that I didn’t know about. However, it is a time-consuming activity.   (Note: Mr. Dave would say that I am typing in a whiney manner.  He would be correct)…………

In my spare time I continue to polish up a couple of my current rants.  There is an especially  rather long-winded reporting of our road trip to the Wildlife Safari in Winston, Oregon, that occurred back in June of this year.  That half day excursion ended up to be what I like to think of as a classic  Dave and Rennie version of Alice in Wonderland’s journey down the rabbit hole, only instead of a hole, Dave and Rennie went down a road…..a very, very looooong and dusty road……

Which brings to mind something I read recently by a blogger whose mission on earth seems  to include advising us other bloggers about his rules  on proper blogging style.  He commands us to keep it short and sweet.  Do not exceed a word count of 25 characters.  Or maybe it was 250 words.  I forget…….

Anyways, I scored a low 2 or 3 on his test of what you are supposed to be doing in order be considered a proper blogger.  Apparently, I scored as being too verbal to blog. That miffed me for a minute and I took the silly test again and lied on all the answers so I would score at his judgment level as to who is most fit to blog. Then I fell into one of my pre-rant irks. Why was I feeling so intimidated?

I figured it out, of course.  I felt intimidated because I didn’t fit the boxed in definition he came up with for what is a proper blogging style.  I’m a verbal gal.  In order to tell you guys stuff, I need my words; and I use as many words as necessary to tell my story.  Sometimes I toss in visual aids which enhance the verbage.  I think that was number four or five on his list of don’t do’s.  Sighhhhhhh ………sixty-four years of age and I’m still the round peg that won’t fit into the square hole……..

You know, it worried me for as long as it took to ingest a couple of graham crackers spread liberally with Nutella along with a half a cup of coffee that I was doing this blogging stuff totally wrong. I didn’t pre-plan my style, subject, or anything else.  I guess that means that I am probably a sort of organic blogger.  What needs to come out be it a rant or a very informative posting about stuff like banana slugs, road kill, or harmonica playing just comes out when it’s ready to.  Yep, I think I shall define my style as “organic”. That is an ok thing……..

OK, peoples, I got to do a few household chores.  To my American readers, have an enjoyable Labor Day extended weekend.  Play safe and be kind to each other…..

l

About Rennie

Welcome to my blog. My name is Rennie. I am 66 years old, retired, and married to a truck loving guy named Dave. We live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest within the state of Oregon, USA. We are a household of two humans and one senior citizen kitty. I named my blog after two things I love to do. MuddiWorks is what I call my studio (a.k.a. extra room in our house where I keep all my art stuff). Kitchen Spurts is the term I came up with to describe my forays into the kitchen to cook. I am presently involved in the exploration of what it's like to be a financially insecure retired person. My blogs will be about things that interest me, amuse me, or irk me. My blog is my vent place.
This entry was posted in Humor, Uncategorized, Updates and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

