The I Made Good Food This Weekend Post

Grilled zucchini and New York cut steak

I have been cooking some good food lately.  I mostly enjoy cooking.  I especially relish any opportunity to use any of the cooking-related gizmos and gadgets lurking about our kitchen.  I love it when I can point out to Mr. Dave that the meal he enjoyed was achieved through the use of a gadget that he considers a useless space waster…..

Anyways, on Saturday, I made a grilled New York steak meal for Mr. Dave and myself using my Wolfgang Puck indoor grill/griddle.  I use this appliance almost daily.  We’ve owned it for years. 

Perfectly grilled steaks

I always recommend the Wolfgang Puck grill as one totally worthy of spending your hard-earned cash on.  It has a nice large cooking surface, offers a temperature rage that goes from a keep-the-soup-hot setting (warm) all the way up to 400 degrees (perfect temperature for grilling). It’s easy to clean and sturdy. Every foodie who likes to cook needs one of these. This is a link to the latest version of this appliance:  View Wolfgang Grill.

A Mr. Dave favorite

 I was able to cook the entire meal on the grill, including a Mr. Dave favorite, Bush’s Grillin’ Beans.  There was plenty of room on the grill to include a saucepan.  Easiest recipe ever.  Just open the can, pour into a saucepan and heat.

My favorite dish of this meal was the grilled zucchini.  It was delicious.  This is the recipe I used to make it:

Italian Style Grilled Zucchini  

2 Medium zucchini cut into 1/4 inch planks
2 Tablespoons olive oil
2 Tablespoons fresh lemon juice
1 Teaspoon Italian seasoning
1/4 Teaspoon granulated garlic
Salt and pepper to taste

Combine all ingredients in bowl and mix well.  Allow to sit for 10 – 15minutes.  Heat grilling surface to 400 degrees.  Place zucchini planks on grill, turning occasionally until cooked to desired doneness.  Remove from heat to covered container to keep warm until serving. 

          Roasted corned beef brisket

On Sunday, I tried a whole new way to cook corned beef brisket.  I used my brother Tom’s recipe for oven roasted corned beef.  I never knew you could roast corned beef brisket. I’ve only ever boiled it to cook it.  Roasting it was easy to do, and it produced über delicious results.  This is Tom’s recipe:

Tom’s Super Method For Oven Roasted Corn Beef Brisket

Corned Beef Brisket (Use whatever size brisket that works for your family size.  I used approx. 3 lb brisket for Mr. Dave and me.)

Bottle of dark beer or ale
Brown sugar
Foil
Cooking pan with rack

Sprinkle contents of spice packet over top of brisket

Preheat oven to 300 degrees F>
Remove corned beef brisket from wrapper, rinse meat under cold water and pat dry with paper towels.

Place rack in cooking pan.  Place brisket on rack, fat side up.  Sprinkle packet of cooking spices included with brisket over top of meat.

Place approximately 1 cup of brown sugar over spices.  Rub sugar into all sides of brisket.

 

     Cover top with brown sugar

Pour one bottle (14 oz.) dark beer or ale into roasting pan.

Cover pan with foil, making sure to secure foil well so that no steam escapes while brisket is roasting.

Bake at 300 degrees F for approximately 3 to 31/2 hours our until tender. Slice thinly and serve warm or cold.  Makes great sandwiches…..

Store in refrigerator in covered container.

Slices of homemade oven roasted corned beef brisket


About Rennie

Welcome to my blog. My name is Rennie. I am 66 years old, retired, and married to a truck loving guy named Dave. We live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest within the state of Oregon, USA. We are a household of two humans and one senior citizen kitty. I named my blog after two things I love to do. MuddiWorks is what I call my studio (a.k.a. extra room in our house where I keep all my art stuff). Kitchen Spurts is the term I came up with to describe my forays into the kitchen to cook. I am presently involved in the exploration of what it's like to be a financially insecure retired person. My blogs will be about things that interest me, amuse me, or irk me. My blog is my vent place.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

