The Dear Phil Post

Picture this in your minds, peoples.  A frazzled, oldish woman with a braid down her back, eyeglasses askew, and a Holiday song in her heart who spent her yesterday finishing up hand dipping chocolates and then boxing them up and only ate two of the icky ones that were rejected for whatever excuse she made for eating them.  That was me, yesterday.

Helping out like the perfect hubbie he is was Mr. Dave. Mr Dave assisted by hauling the pans of dipped chocolates from the dipping station to the fridge and then toting them back to the dipping station where Frazzled Braid (my new moniker for the holiday season) boxed them up.  Thank you, Mr. Dave for your assistance.  It was major appreciated by my knees and lungs……..

Results of my 2013 efforts

OK, so I am pretty much finished with goodie making duties for the 2013 Holiday season. I woke up this morning, still smelling like chocolate, which is a good thing, because I like that scent, and I was feeling quite smugish,  because I actually produced my seasonal goodies in advance of the big day. I brewed  up a cup of hot tea, turned on my computer and went to my favorite newspapers  on line to read about what’s going on in the world. Then I traversed to Facebook to see what was going on the worlds of my cyber friends and family……..

That’s when I saw the gazillionith post in support of a reality television personality who got removed from his show for an interview he gave to GQ magazine which was so very hateful towards other humans that I totally lost it.  This is the text of the post I made on Facebook along with a link to an article which highlighted some of his worst comments: 

“Just think some of you crazed Duck Dynasty folks need to think about what ole Phil was communicating to his vast audience of supporters. Freedom of speech is a protected right in our nation. Dumb ass stupidity is allowed because we are all humans and we sometimes mess up when we express ourselves. When we communicate our personal beliefs to the public via whatever soap box used, the feedback we receive in return also falls under that same freedom of speech protection. That being said, in my opinion, Phil’s views are racist, stupid, and not worthy of being supported by anyone with a working brain. Those who cite a religious belief as a reason to oppress others not of your chosen faith is becoming an archaic dogma, thank the Gods. I believe that we humans who continue to move towards religious beliefs that treating every soul we encounter in this life with love, acceptance, and kindness is way closer to how a deity would like us to behave. Just my opinion, folks…….”
 

Me in lecture mode

This is the holiday season, peoples.  A time that we could use positively for celebrating times spent with all those amazing souls we have been privileged to be acquainted with during our lifetimes on this planet.  A time for being grateful for a multitude of reasons, a time when goodwill towards all mankind, even the ones that make you feel fidgety and insecure would be a good thing to practice…… 

That’s my plan for the holiday season, peeps.  Keep the love in my heart and tune out the haters.  It’s a good thing to do on a daily basis….  

Yep, I’m  just a frazzled, oldish woman with a braid down her back, eyeglasses askew, and a Holiday song in her heart. I am just a tad bit exasperated with narrow minded folks being supported by other narrow minded folks and using religion as a defense for their bigoted, dumb ass views……. 

There, phew…… I’ve vented and now I can go back to enjoying my day……….   

About Rennie

Welcome to my blog. My name is Rennie. I am 66 years old, retired, and married to a truck loving guy named Dave. We live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest within the state of Oregon, USA. We are a household of two humans and one senior citizen kitty. I named my blog after two things I love to do. MuddiWorks is what I call my studio (a.k.a. extra room in our house where I keep all my art stuff). Kitchen Spurts is the term I came up with to describe my forays into the kitchen to cook. I am presently involved in the exploration of what it's like to be a financially insecure retired person. My blogs will be about things that interest me, amuse me, or irk me. My blog is my vent place.
This entry was posted in Rants and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

