The Signs of Fall Post


I am so  happy glad to welcome back the fall season to the Pacific Northwest that I can hardly keep myself from giggling with glee…….. 

Summer has officially ended, and Mr. Dave has covertly been seen openly sneering at both the front and backyard lawns.  Mr. Dave has been eagerly anticipating the end of his weekly lawn mowing chores for quite some time.  Now that summer’s finely gone away to wherever seasons past go when they are no longer relevant, Mr. Dave has retired the lawn mower to the garage………

Mr. Dave’s burgers were excellent…..

The barbecue on our patio has been covered in a waterproof hood and set aside until summer returns.  This is a sad thing, as I do enjoy Mr. Dave’s barbecued burgers and steaks. It’s an irksome thought to realize that we’ll have to wait until May or June of the year 2014 for the pleasure of dining on one of Mr. Dave’s totally awesome grilled burgers slathered with a glaze of Sweet Baby Ray’s sauce…..

The absolutely perfect Oregon Coast view

There will be no more trips to the Oregon coast this year.  We had some excellent road trips there and back again.  Thank you, Mr. Dave, for providing the transportation and for your photographs recording the journey.

Check out Lisa Marie Art for some excellent holiday presents based on her unique artworks. Lots of cute kitty-related items!!

Our air conditioner has been turned to the “off” position until it gets chilly enough outdoors to require that the furnace must be engaged to keep the inside of our house comfy warm.  The cats and I held a special, “God Bless You Mother Nature” celebration” to honor this momentous event.  Catnip was offered to all furry critters while a cup of yummy coffee was sipped by the human.  Sincere happy dancing was performed by all……

Photo courtesy of National Geographic Traveler

The leaves on all the trees in our neighborhood are beginning to change colors.  It’s a lovely sight to see when a gust of October wind erupts causing zillions of leaves to fly off the trees. Watching a shower of orange, red, brownish and yellow leaves being swirled round and round by the wind makes me a happy soul……..
 
There is much to look forward to with the advent of fall.  All those fun holidays like Halloween and Thanksgiving.  There is holiday baking and goodie making and roasted turkey to anticipate. There is football and a new season of Hawaii Five Oh, and lots of cool horror movies now being shown on the Syfi channel

I wish you all a happy fall season, peoples. Make good use of this opportunity to enjoy all that is fall. Take time to frolic in a pile of leaves with your kids, feast on a juicy Macintosh apple, visit a pumpkin patch, or take a walk in the rain making use of that cool umbrella you bought last year.  Savor the aromas that bring fall to mind–crispy cool rain soaked air scented with smoke from your neighbor’s fireplaces.  Be grateful and joyful, peeps. It’s a good karma generating activity………

P.S. I just discovered the Zazzle Online Shopping site.  It offers some pretty neat stuff made by artists and crafters from all over the world. Lots of seasonal offerings. It’s way cool………

About Rennie

Welcome to my blog. My name is Rennie. I am 66 years old, retired, and married to a truck loving guy named Dave. We live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest within the state of Oregon, USA. We are a household of two humans and one senior citizen kitty. I named my blog after two things I love to do. MuddiWorks is what I call my studio (a.k.a. extra room in our house where I keep all my art stuff). Kitchen Spurts is the term I came up with to describe my forays into the kitchen to cook. I am presently involved in the exploration of what it's like to be a financially insecure retired person. My blogs will be about things that interest me, amuse me, or irk me. My blog is my vent place.
This entry was posted in Humor, Miscellaneous and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

