The Coffee Post


When I was a child, one of the great things in my world was to finagle a way to get a sip of whatever my parents were drinking. I believe all kids attempt this….. 

Probably, taking a sip out of mom or dad’s beverage cup is a genetically ingrained kid behavior.  A curious urge awakens whenever a child sees a drinking vessel in the vicinity of its parental units. This urge is all consuming.  This urge demands that one toddle over to that container and request, politely, of course, that it be given a taste of the liquid stuff its parent is enjoying….

That’s how I got my first taste of coffee. Too young to know any better, I demanded and got a sip of my dad’s strong black coffee and experienced my palate pucker into bits from the bitterness.  Probably, I said “yuck!,” and then went on with my life.  From that first encounter, my undeveloped mind decided that coffee was an awful liquid that I should be wary of in future encounters….

Further along in my future, when I was burning the candle at both ends with school and work and all that other stuff twenty-somethings get into, I tried coffee again.  It was probably a cup of that coffee machine kind. Strong, black, hot, and served up in a waxy paper cup.  The coffee contained enough caffeine in it to keep me awake.  Who needed sleep during finals week when term papers were due and major studying was required so that decent grades could be achieved……

Coffee became my hot drink of choice; and, I eventually acquired a coffee pot, electric coffee grinder, and an interest in sampling different kinds of coffee….. 

Almost every Saturday, I would visit a local coffee shop to purchase a quarter pound of beans that had been harvested in far away places like Africa, Brazil, and Jamaica.  The coffee shop’s owner was an expert at roasting and blending.    He always had a new mixture of roasted beans available for us serious coffee drinkers to sample….. 

I totally enjoyed my heavy coffee drinking days. I would have several cups of standard brewed office coffee during the day and a special cup of home brewed coffee
at night….

I delighted in the whole coffee making process from visiting the coffee shop to purchase the beans, grinding them in my electric coffee grinder, scooping the freshly ground beans into the brewer, pouring a cup of  that hot, steaming wonderfulness into a mug, and then savoring the end result……..

Later on in life, after a serious illness, my doctor suggested I reduce my coffee intake to a mere cup a day. Caffeine had become a “bad for me” substance.  I gave up buying freshly roasted coffee beans, sent my beloved coffee pot to the garage, converted my coffee grinder to a spice grinder, and made plain water my main drinking choice……

I still enjoy an occasional cup of coffee. I’m  still passionate about the entire coffee making process. I still savor every sip of coffee I get my hands on.  I’m just not able to do it as often as I would like, and I’m not happy about it!

Mr. Dave introduced me to single serving coffee bags a while ago.  Mr. Dave isn’t a coffee drinker, himself, but he did recall that some of his Navy shipmates, who were coffee drinkers, enjoyed the coffee produced by a company called Reunion Island.  This is a pretty tasty brand, and the company’s products are organic and sustainable, which is a good thing…..

I gotta say that the coffee produced by a coffee bag, even a good one like the Reunion Island brand, isn’t near as delicious as were those fresh ground coffee beans brewed by my banished coffee pot.  It’s adequate to soothe my desire for a cup of coffee, but my taste buds missed that deeper fresh ground coffee flavor……..

Earlier this year, Mr. Dave returned from a shopping trip to Manila Market with a box of San Mig instant coffee mix.  It was a box of ten packets of the most delicious, rich coffee flavor ever. It tastes quite similar to the freshly brewed stuff I miss.

I Googled San Mig and found out that it’s produced in Singapore. The company makes a variety of instant coffee mixes.  The coffee mixes are available online through Amazon.  I like San Ming’s 3 in 1 Strong blend.

Anyways, I now have a single serving coffee type that provides that freshly ground coffee taste that was missing from those single serving coffee bags.  For a woman who had to greatly reduce her coffee intake from daily to once in a while, this is the best thing ever……

Coffee harvest in Laos

I came across some interesting coffee-related sites that coffee loving peoples like me, who savor their coffee drinking moments, may find interesting:

**Wisegeek has a good article on the different types of coffee and what makes them unique. They provide some videos and lots of answers to coffee-related questions. Worthy of a read through.

**My buddy, Wikipedia, has a great assembly of articles on coffee covering everything from the history of coffee to the effects of coffee drinking on us humans.  Lots of interesting info.

**Here is an article from Healthy Living about the pros and cons of coffee drinking.

**PBS offers an interesting documentary in three parts titled, Black Coffee.  This is a YouTube link that will play all three episodes one after the other.  Each episode is about 60 minutes in length.  Excellent program on the history and economics of the coffee industry.  I totally enjoyed this program and learned new stuff I did not know previously. 

  
**About.com has a good article on the various types of coffee makers one could use to brew their morning cuppa with pros and cons on each type. Good info if you are in the market to purchase a new coffee maker.

About Rennie

Welcome to my blog. My name is Rennie. I am 66 years old, retired, and married to a truck loving guy named Dave. We live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest within the state of Oregon, USA. We are a household of two humans and one senior citizen kitty. I named my blog after two things I love to do. MuddiWorks is what I call my studio (a.k.a. extra room in our house where I keep all my art stuff). Kitchen Spurts is the term I came up with to describe my forays into the kitchen to cook. I am presently involved in the exploration of what it's like to be a financially insecure retired person. My blogs will be about things that interest me, amuse me, or irk me. My blog is my vent place.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Online Store and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

