The Suprise Road Trip Post

 

I was the recipient of the perfect surprise on Friday.  It was an unexpected one, which is, of course, the very nicest sort of surprise. 

 My day started with a morning trip to the doctor for a regularly scheduled “how are you doing healthwise” visit.  Visiting the doctor as well as going pretty much anywhere outside our house involves Mr. Dave, who acts as chauffeur, wheel chair pusher, and official tour guide to the wonders of Highway 18 and beyond. 

 On this particular day, the weather was excellent. Although it was a bit chilly, the sun was out in force and the sky was that lovely, clear blue, spring is on its way hue that us Pacific Northwesterners look forward to after enduring dozens of days of dark grey miserable winter weather.  Can you tell winter is pretty much not my favorite season?

Anyways, after being couped up for the entire winter, going anywheres, even a mundane doctor appointment, is an adventure for me.  On this particular day, after the doctor appointment was over we were going to stop by Costco and shop!  They have electric scooters at Costco that us debilitated folks with lung issues can use to zip around the isles.  This is where the surprise enters the story…….   

After the doctor appointment was over and done with and we were in Earl the truck headed towards Costco, the devious Mr. Dave announces that we were taking a surprise road trip to the coast.  The next thing you know we are on the way to Seaside via Highway 26.  We haven’t journeyed to the coast in years.

That’s me at our first visitor’s stop at the coast.  We are just outside of Garibaldi overlooking the Pacific. Mr. Dave used his cell phone to take all the pictures of our  trip. 

 

This is the view we had.  Oh my gosh, peoples, the weather was perfect.  Those branches in the forefront are pussy willows.  They were just starting to bud.  The tide is on its way out and the rocks that are usually under water are becoming more visible as the ocean recedes. 

 

We meandered  down Highway 101 from Seaside to Depot Bay, stopping at viewpoints all along the way.  Dave snapped this pic of Highway 101 from a viewpoint just inside Garibaldi.  I love the contrast of the road cutting through the mountainside.   

 

These are views from a stop we made in Cannon Beach.  When I think Cannon Beach, I think rounded rocks.

There are zillions of huge rocks that are hidden under water.  When the tide recedes they appear.  

Small cove just outside of Cannon Beach.

 

We stopped at the Tillamook Cheese Factory where cheddar cheese curds, a loaf of Colby cheese, and a loaf of Pepper Jack cheese were purchased.  Mr. Dave loves cheese curds.  I don’t care for them, myself; however, I love pepper jack cheese, and I like that the Tillamook Cheese factory supports Oregon dairy farmers by using their milk exclusively.


The closer we got to Depoe Bay, the more cloudy it became.  This is a view of the beach nearing Depoe Bay. Depoe Bay has a number of interesting gift shops. There is a harbor there where you can pay to go deep sea fishing.  It was whale watching season, so there were also boat trips available to go and see the whales.

 

I have no idea why this pic came out in total grey tones.  Dave went shopping and I stayed in the truck. We were parked at a viewpoint in Depot bay just over a harbor.  The boat you see was a half day fishing boat returning to port. Got to see it come in and go under the road to the docks.  Way cool.   The bird in the pic is a very chubby seagull.

You can’t see it, but to the left of the fishing boat there was another boat moving between the buoys.  There were whales just past the buoys, and I saw them spouting and saw the tail of one slap water.  Oh my gosh, it was epic!   

 

A closer view of the inlet where we were parked

Mr. Dave returned from his shopping with bags of excellent tourista stuff.  He purchased a classic Depoe Bay ceramic coffee mug for me and one of those plastic travel coffee cup thingies with a sippy top for himself. 

 Mr. Dave also found a replacement for one of his cherished crystal glasses which had got ruined when someone, who might have been me, accidentally put it in the dishwasher.  He also stopped at Ainslee’s and picked up a selection of their delicious salt water taffy.

Our last stop before heading for home was this crab shop where we purchased two dungenous crabs and a pound of shrimp, both caught fresh that morning.  The owner of the shop cleaned the crabs for us and packed everything in ice so it stayed nice and cold during the trip back home…..

Thank you, Mr. Dave, for this most excellent adventure.
About Rennie

Welcome to my blog. My name is Rennie. I am 66 years old, retired, and married to a truck loving guy named Dave. We live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest within the state of Oregon, USA. We are a household of two humans and one senior citizen kitty. I named my blog after two things I love to do. MuddiWorks is what I call my studio (a.k.a. extra room in our house where I keep all my art stuff). Kitchen Spurts is the term I came up with to describe my forays into the kitchen to cook. I am presently involved in the exploration of what it's like to be a financially insecure retired person. My blogs will be about things that interest me, amuse me, or irk me. My blog is my vent place.
This entry was posted in Road trip and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

