The Mini Monkey Post

 

This may well  be the cutest little critter that I have ever seen, peoples! It’s called a tarsier (pronounced tar-zee-ah by some folks and tar-she-air by others).   These little guys reside right here on the planet with you and me and everyone else…..

Tarsiers are little bitty monkeys.  Their adult body size ranges from 3 to 6 inches tall, and their tails are six to twelve inches long.

INTERESTING FACTS ABOUT THE TARSIER MONKEY:


**There are 18 species of tarsiers.

**Tarsiers reside in Southeastern Asian island countries like Borneo and the Philippine Islands of Bohol, Samar, Leyte, and Mindanao.


**Tarsiers have the largest eyes of any mammal in relation to their body size.

 

**Unlike most monkeys that eat mainly plants, fruits, and other vegetation, tarsiers are  mainly meat eaters. Tarsiers eat insects, frogs, lizards, and small birds.  Some of the more bad-assed tarsiers hunt and eat poisonous snakes and even small bats. 

**Native peoples of Southeastern Asia have a different name for this tiny monkey. They refer to the tarsier as mamag, mago, magau, maomag, malmag, or magatilok-iok.

**Predators that like to snack on tarsiers include cats, birds of prey, and snakes

**Some scientists believe that tarsiers have been present on our planet for 20 million years.

**Tarsiers are an endangered species.  The forests where they reside and forage for food are being destroyed by agricultural and mining interests. The exotic pet trade has also contributed to Tarsiers becoming an endangered species. 

If you’d like to learn more about the tarsier.  Here are some resources to assist you:

This is a short YouTube video that provides a slightly humorous look at this critter.

 A short, informative video from BBC that gives us a more serious look at  these little critters.

This is an excellent 45 minute, quite serious, documentary on the tarsier that chronicles the work being done in the Philippines to protect these amazing little critters from becoming extinct. It’s called Tarsier Primate: The Littlest Alien.  I learned megalots from watching this video.

As always my good buddy, Wikipedia, has some useful information to offer us on the subject.

The Tarsier is yet another reason for all us human types to constantly remain in awe of our surroundings and to show respect towards all the critters that inhabit places we may have never heard of in lands far, far away from where we call home. What a special privilege it is to learn new stuff about this lovely old planet we call Earth.

 
 
Feed Your Mind On A Daily Basis
あなたの毎日与えなさい

 
 
About Rennie

Welcome to my blog. My name is Rennie. I am 66 years old, retired, and married to a truck loving guy named Dave. We live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest within the state of Oregon, USA. We are a household of two humans and one senior citizen kitty. I named my blog after two things I love to do. MuddiWorks is what I call my studio (a.k.a. extra room in our house where I keep all my art stuff). Kitchen Spurts is the term I came up with to describe my forays into the kitchen to cook. I am presently involved in the exploration of what it's like to be a financially insecure retired person. My blogs will be about things that interest me, amuse me, or irk me. My blog is my vent place.
This entry was posted in Critters, Feed your mind. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

