Shewanda Sourdough Bread Update

I just finished baking my very first loaf of true artisan sour dough bread made with my Shewanda 2013 starter.  What a cool journey it is to learn new stuff!  This is what my sourdough looked like right out of the oven.  I so like the pattern that was made on this loaf by the wicker proofing basket.

The finished loaf fresh out of the oven. Wish I could share with you all how great the entire house smelled.

What I like most  about this particular loaf is that I didn’t use one bit of commercial yeast.  The entire leavening product was the wild yeast captured in my Shewanda 2013 sourdough starter.  I made bread like the ancient Egyptians today!  OK, maybe not exactly like the ancient Egyptians.  They didn’t have electric ovens back then, after all.  However, the chemistry involved in creating a sourdough  starter today is pretty much the same process as that used way back in 1500 BC……

A slice of Shewanda sourdough

My loaf has an excellent chewy crust and a nice soft crumb. Crumb refers to the bread area inside the crust. For sourdough of this type you want a soft, not overly moist crumb with some larger air holes. The flavor of this loaf is spot on San Francisco style sourdough. The required tang was there…..

At this point in the world of sourdough baking, I am a newb. Not a total, clueless newb.  I understand the process now.   I just need to make a few more basic loaves of sourdough so I can acquire a bit of confidence creating this style of bread. After I’m satisfied that I got the basics learned well, I’ll try my hand at adding different flour types to the mix.

OK, peoples, I’m off to do a couple of chores and finish making Mr. Dave’s supper………

 
About Rennie

Welcome to my blog. My name is Rennie. I am 66 years old, retired, and married to a truck loving guy named Dave. We live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest within the state of Oregon, USA. We are a household of two humans and one senior citizen kitty. I named my blog after two things I love to do. MuddiWorks is what I call my studio (a.k.a. extra room in our house where I keep all my art stuff). Kitchen Spurts is the term I came up with to describe my forays into the kitchen to cook. I am presently involved in the exploration of what it's like to be a financially insecure retired person. My blogs will be about things that interest me, amuse me, or irk me. My blog is my vent place.
This entry was posted in Baking, Miscellaneous, Sourdough and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

