The New Year’s 2013 Resolutions Post

Spectacular view of the Oregon Coast.

I no longer start out the year by making New Year’s Day resolutions.  I don’t keep them very well, you see.  In the past, every January 1, I would create a sizable pile of unreasonable goals and lay them at my feet of clay.  Unreasonable goals are like anti-self land mines. If you make a misstep in keeping such resolutions, an explosive psychic KAPOW  is bound to enter your life.  Feelings of ineptness and failure get splatted all over your subconscious, weighing you down with guilt and shame and all sorts of stupid negative feelings that mess up your internal feng shui.

 

Who in her right mind, after being alive sixty plus years, would ever, ever allow herself to compile a yearly list of stuff that she should work on as of January 1 in order to become a better human?  Not me, by gar!  I decided a few years back to begin using some of the wisdom I’m supposed to have acquired from inhabiting my place on the planet for decades whilst dealing with life on a daily basis.  My earned wisdom dictates that the making of New Year’s Day resolutions is unnecessary.  I can make a resolution to improve myself any old time I want to….

Although I’m personally not making any New Year’s Day resolutions, I see no reason why others surrounding me shouldn’t.   Mr. Dave should make some so that I have something to nag him about.  Nothing makes me happier than assisting Mr. Dave in improving himself!

 
I wonder if cats make New Year’s Day resolutions?  Probably, they don’t.  Most cats come into this world wise enough to use their free time napping rather than thinking up a complex list of improvements they need to make to their furry selves. If our cats made  New Year’s Day resolutions, I’m pretty sure I know what they would be.

Walker’s resolution would be to keep doing what he’s always done.  Take no crap from either kitty or human.  Never ever apologize for the occasional faux pas in feline behavior, and continue to live by the rule that perfection doesn’t need improvement.  It just is….

Harland’s resolution would be to incessantly bug the humans in this household until they acquire a bigger dry cat food bowl. One can never have enough available kitty chow……

 Polly’s resolution would be to finally implement a successful plan to invade most of France and crown herself Empress Pollyanna the first.  This would, of course, be followed by another attempt to take over Africa, and eventually the world, fulfilling, at last, her life long dream of world domination……

Carl’s resolution would be to remain patient and observant as the other cats grow older and more decrepit.  When the others pass on to the land of no fleas, never ending kitty treats, and acres of fragrant green catnip to frolic in, Carl will be the number one kitty at last……..

 If you decide to make resolutions this year, I would suggest adding these good Karma collectors to your list:   

  • Show kindness to everyone you encounter.   Smiles and using wordage like please, thank you, and good  morning are simple kindnesses that can change attitudes, create happiness, and chop down the stress level to a minimum…….
  • Tell your family members often that you love and appreciate them.  Mark my words, peoples, you will miss them when they are gone, even if you only sort of liked them…..
  • Stay in touch with the friends you make, they are a blessing, except for the ones who keep borrowing stuff and never return it, or are the toxic kind of friend that encourages some of your worser behaviors to come out and play….
  • Keep working on maintaining an  abundant sense of humor.  Laugh as much as possible on a daily basis.  Laughter counters all sorts of negativity.  Laughter lightens the mood, brightens the outlook, and makes you feel excellent….

OK, peoples, I got to post this and then go and do a couple of chores I’ve been avoiding.  I hope you all are doing well and that any resolutions you’ve made turn out successfully……

About Rennie

Welcome to my blog. My name is Rennie. I am 66 years old, retired, and married to a truck loving guy named Dave. We live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest within the state of Oregon, USA. We are a household of two humans and one senior citizen kitty. I named my blog after two things I love to do. MuddiWorks is what I call my studio (a.k.a. extra room in our house where I keep all my art stuff). Kitchen Spurts is the term I came up with to describe my forays into the kitchen to cook. I am presently involved in the exploration of what it's like to be a financially insecure retired person. My blogs will be about things that interest me, amuse me, or irk me. My blog is my vent place.
This entry was posted in Rants and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

