The New Year’s Eve 2012 Post

The year 2012 is coming to a close, peoples.  Mr. Dave and I will be glad to say goodbye to this particular year.  It was one of those epic, what the heck did we do to deserve all this bad stuff happening to us years. 

It’s been a year which, although difficult in the amount of stressful stuff that occurred, taught us that we can, indeed, come out on the other side of a crisis or two or three with an increase in our wisdom level, a clearer sense of what is really important in life, and a strengthened ability to bear the next crisis that will inevitably cross our doorstep in the future. 

That’s the way life is, peoples.  Some years are harder to pass through than others.  

Anyways, we had a lovely Christmas Day.  I hope you all did, as well.  We slept in late.  Well, not late, late.  We live with four indoor cats, and Harland would simply perish into a quivering puddle of starved feline misery if he got fed later than 8 a.m.  We opened presents, watched a movie, and made a supper of glazed ham, some from-the-box mashed potatoes, some from the can baked beans, rolls from the store, and a veggie side dish.   It was a nice, easy to deal with holiday meal.  No mess and no stress…..

Speaking of stress and mess.  The final holiday goodies were completed well before Santa showed up.  I completed the final candy making and boxing up of my handiwork on Christmas eve. Argggg what a job that was.  Hand dipped chocolates were piled on every counter waiting to be tucked into festive gift containers.  Here are a couple pictures of my handiwork:

A lovely selection for my sister’s family

A tub of yum for my brother’s family

Pretty darn spectacular, in my humble opinion.  I think I may have produced a smidgen too many. (Is there such a thing as too much chocolate?) In addition to the family containers, I made enough chocolates to generously gift Mr. Dave’s coworkers, our next door neighbors, and still have a supply tucked away for Mr. Dave and myself.  I probably won’t make such a variety of kinds next year, but I will definitely make Mr. Dave a batch of the coconut centers.  They are awesome………..

Oh, before I forget, I want to shout out a happy anniversary to my brother Tom and his most excellent wife, Ms. Cynthia. Today is their anniversary.  They’ve been together for eons. Well done, you two…….

Congratulations also go to my sporty nephew, Jadon Morgan, and his basketball team,  the 5th Grade Bruins!!!!  These guys recently won their league’s 2012-13 5th grade Championship Basket Ball Tournament.  Their team record was 17 wins and Zero losses.

GO BRUINS!!!  Jadon is the kid to the right of the “e” in  skate……

OK, time for me to post this one and go make a nice goodbye 2012, we are not sad to see you go supper.  May you all have a safe and satisfactory holiday and a healthy new year…….

About Rennie

Welcome to my blog. My name is Rennie. I am 66 years old, retired, and married to a truck loving guy named Dave. We live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest within the state of Oregon, USA. We are a household of two humans and one senior citizen kitty. I named my blog after two things I love to do. MuddiWorks is what I call my studio (a.k.a. extra room in our house where I keep all my art stuff). Kitchen Spurts is the term I came up with to describe my forays into the kitchen to cook. I am presently involved in the exploration of what it's like to be a financially insecure retired person. My blogs will be about things that interest me, amuse me, or irk me. My blog is my vent place.
This entry was posted in New Years. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

