Peanut Butter Candy Center Recipe

 

These are soooo good, peoples!

The ongoing mission to create goodies for the holiday goodie boxes continues with the creation of some yummy, hand dipped chocolates.

I found a great recipe for a copycat version of the filling inside Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups. It’s pretty darn tasty and very easy to make. This is a recipe that you can involve your children in making as the only stove work necessary is melting together some butter and peanut butter. 

The ingredients are

2 cups chunky peanut butter
1 stick butter2 cups powdered sugar
2 cups graham cracker crumbs 
Chocolate for dipping

Step One:  Over medium heat melt butter, then stir in peanut butter. Keep stirring until the butter and peanut butter are well combined

 

Step Two: Remove pan from heat and stir in powdered sugar and graham cracker crumbs.   The mixture will be thick and warm and will smell divine.  Resist the urge to continuously sample.

 Pour filling into a refrigerator storage container with lid and refrigerate until chilled. 

Step Four:  Remove the filling from refrigerator and set on counter for an hour or two to bring to room temp.  I cheated a bit.  I used a spoon and broke the filling up into pieces and then kneaded it until I could form it into balls.  The heat in my hands made quick work of the chilled mixture.

Form filling into small balls and set on wax paper lined tray.  This recipe made about 60 pieces. 

Step Five:  Melt whatever type of chocolate coating you wish to use.  Rather than deal with tempering 100 percent pure chocolate, I used a compound chocolate coating called Bada Bing Bada Boom that I purchased online from Chocoley

Bada Bing Bada Boom is an excellent product, peoples!  It only needed to be melted over hot water and it’s ready to use.  It has the snap and flavor of a tempered 100% chocolate without all the hassle of tempering. 

 

Dip each ball of peanutty goodness in chocolate and place on wax paper lined cookie sheet.  Place in refrigerator for 30 min to set the chocolate. 

Store in airtight container in fridge.

About Rennie

Welcome to my blog. My name is Rennie. I am 66 years old, retired, and married to a truck loving guy named Dave. We live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest within the state of Oregon, USA. We are a household of two humans and one senior citizen kitty. I named my blog after two things I love to do. MuddiWorks is what I call my studio (a.k.a. extra room in our house where I keep all my art stuff). Kitchen Spurts is the term I came up with to describe my forays into the kitchen to cook. I am presently involved in the exploration of what it's like to be a financially insecure retired person. My blogs will be about things that interest me, amuse me, or irk me. My blog is my vent place.
This entry was posted in Candy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

