Pre Holidays Hulabaloo

I am in the process of getting ready to make holiday goodies.  This is a stressful time for Mr. Dave.  His regular routine of returning home from a hard day of work to relative calm and quietness  is continuously being disrupted.  There are boxes arriving via UPS every other day containing the stuff I ordered for my goodies projects.  Additions have been made to the weekly grocery list for the last few weeks that leave Mr. Dave scratching his head and rolling his eyes as he searches the grocery store isles seeking out unfamiliar ingredients.

 (Memo to self—when you put Karo syrup on the shopping list remember to write “light Karo syrup” or Mr. Dave will come back with the dark kind.  Never assume Mr. Dave would know instinctively that you need the light kind for making caramels not the brown……….also, remember to explain the difference between evaporated milk and sweetened condensed milk. They are not the same thing…………. )

 

I’ve never hosted a cookie decorating day, so I’m scurrying around trying to anticipate what needs to be done and gathering the ingredients I need for baking my share of the holiday goodies. I will be making a number of items ahead of the day we meet to decorate our rolled cookies and that’s keeping me busy and driving Mr. Dave nuts……..

 

My kitchen is cluttered with cardboard  boxes containing essential ingredient stuff.  I had to perform a serious hunt for the cardboard box containing all my candy making tools.  It got moved from its original storage place to  somewhere else.  I huffed, puffed, and swore to the Gods of Brutal Vengeance that I am going to do major bodily harm to the next person who relocates stuff I put in one place to another place they consider more logical.


Anyways, I eventually found all my goodie making tools, and have acquired the necessary ingredients.  I’ll be sure to share pics of some of my efforts as I progress………..

 

 

About Rennie

Welcome to my blog. My name is Rennie. I am 66 years old, retired, and married to a truck loving guy named Dave. We live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest within the state of Oregon, USA. We are a household of two humans and one senior citizen kitty. I named my blog after two things I love to do. MuddiWorks is what I call my studio (a.k.a. extra room in our house where I keep all my art stuff). Kitchen Spurts is the term I came up with to describe my forays into the kitchen to cook. I am presently involved in the exploration of what it's like to be a financially insecure retired person. My blogs will be about things that interest me, amuse me, or irk me. My blog is my vent place.
This entry was posted in Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

