That For Which We Give Thanks

Today in the USA we celebrate the holiday we call Thanksgiving Day.  It’s a day when family and friends gather together to celebrate with a turkey centered meal.  It’s a day to be grateful about stuff like good food, mega malls, and all those relatives whom we care about. Notice I didn’t say all those relatives whom we love……..   

For many Americans, there are those family members for whom the term “love” is a totally wrong word selection when defining the relationship between us and them.  Perhaps, a better term for these folks is “those we tolerate because (………..fill in the blank……….).” 

The “because” reason will vary from family member to family member.  Mostly, those whom we tolerate, are connected to us through someone else we rather like.  Thus, to keep peace within the family ranks, we tolerate all members of the clan that show up to share in the Thanksgiving feast.  We don’t have to love them,  we just need to practice some self control, hold our tongues, and not ruin the day for someone else due to our personal issues……….

On this day, most of us will dine on a feast of turkey with all the trimmings. Lots and lots of trimmings……….

                                                                             Others of us will serve their community by volunteering their time serving up a feast of turkey and trimmings to those who find themselves in the position of needing a little help from their fellow humans on this day………..


Some of us will get up early enough to sit in front of the television to watch the annual Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade……

 
Some of us will sit in front of the television and watch NFL Football….

Some of us will treat today as nothing really special. I think these folks might not like roasted turkey a whole lot. They probably like pizza more. So they will eat pizza. I expect they are thankful for pizza……..

The total purpose in celebrating Thanksgiving Day, in my opinion, is to take the time to appreciate and be thankful for all the wonderful people, both loved and tolerated, and all that other stuff that makes my time here on Earth a joyful experience.


On this day, and the 364 days that follow, I’m thankful for the following:

  • My hubby, Dave, who puts up with mostly all my artsy projects, excessive chatter, and other sorts of girlie behaviors which would irk most other men to tears…….
  • My sister Judy and her family, Chuck, Dawn, and Morgan…..
  • My brother Tom, his wife, Cynthia and their bazillion children and their children’s children……..
  •  My nephew Jadon, who plays baseball, basketball, football and lots of other sporty stuff. He is one way cool dude……..
  • Our four cats, Walker, Harland, Pollyanna, and Carl.  They are four loving, furry souls…….
  •  Rainbows, sunny days, the smell of a freshly mowed lawn, blue jays and chickadees……
  •  All the members of our armed services, they are our nation’s heroes….
  •  Freedom…..

I wish you all the best this Thanksgiving Day, 2012, peoples.  May you have an excellent time doing whatever it is that makes you smile.  

Oh, goodness gracious me!  I can’t end this post without providing you with a few resources related to Thanksgiving in the good old USA.  We can’t waste the chance to increase our knowledge, can we?



 

My friend, Wikipedia, offers a  good read on the history of Thanksgiving in the USA .

 Here’s a cute video I found on YouTube.  It’s titled “You Can’t Gobble Me.” It made me smile.

This YouTube video rocks!  It’s titled “You Can’t Stuff This.”  It is excellent.  You will find yourself singing along with it.

This is one of my favorite YouTube videos of all time.  I play it often. It’s a song sung by Mary Chapin Carpenter and it fits the day perfectly. It’s a great video to play any day.

An excellent short video by Studies Weekly titled “The History of Thanksgiving.”  It gives a great explanation of how this holiday came to be.

Lastly, an article from about.com that presents a present day Native American Indian point of view regarding the celebration of Thanksgiving. 

About Rennie

Welcome to my blog. My name is Rennie. I am 66 years old, retired, and married to a truck loving guy named Dave. We live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest within the state of Oregon, USA. We are a household of two humans and one senior citizen kitty. I named my blog after two things I love to do. MuddiWorks is what I call my studio (a.k.a. extra room in our house where I keep all my art stuff). Kitchen Spurts is the term I came up with to describe my forays into the kitchen to cook. I am presently involved in the exploration of what it's like to be a financially insecure retired person. My blogs will be about things that interest me, amuse me, or irk me. My blog is my vent place.
This entry was posted in Rants, Thanksgiving and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

