Recovery

It’s been a while since my last post.  I sort of put aside my writing while I dealt with all the Mr. Dave cancer stuff.  Since my last post a lot has happened in our lives.  Most of it was pretty awesome.

 First on the list is how Mr. Dave is progressing in his recovery from a major surgery which involved losing a part of his kidney due to a cancerous tumor.  The operation went very well, and the tumor was biopsied.  Mr. Dave’s type of cancer has a 90%  plus cure rate when caught early.  We lucked out, as it appears that his tumor was caught early enough to fall into that 90% range.  Hopefully, Mr. Dave won’t ever have to deal with cancer again.  If he doesn’t have a recurrence of tumors on his kidneys in the next ten years, we can consider him cured

Mr. Dave is now involved in the recovery process.  His body has gone through an enormously traumatic surgery, and he is dealing with the pain involved pretty darn well.  He was in hospital for a week after his surgery before he was allowed to come home.  The left side of his body is bruised front and back and he had pretty gold staples in several places where the robotic surgery arms were inserted during the surgery.  He also had some really horrid blisters.  It seems Mr. Dave was allergic to the silk surgery tape they used and his body reacted by blistering everywhere the tape was. 

So, Mr. Dave returned home tumor free, with a quarter or so of a kidney gone, and in a lot of pain along with itchy sutures and yucky blisters.  His first few days home were mainly spent sitting in his recliner with Pollyanna, the cat we call his kitty wife.  Polly is exclusively Dave’s cat.  From the first day she came to live with us, she picked Dave as her human of choice.  She is devoted to Mr. Dave, and pretty much ignores me.  Polly was beyond upset while Mr. Dave was in hospital.  She spent most of her time under the bed sulking, and only came out to drink a bit of water and search the house for Mr. Dave.  I think she blamed me for his disappearance

When Mr. Dave came home, Polly was joyous.  She followed him everywhere he went and didn’t want him associating with any other cat but her.  She’s sort of a drama queen in that way.  Our other cats just ignore her temper tantrums, and go about their business.  They also like Mr. Dave, were glad to see him back home, and demanded and got their share of Mr. Dave attention despite Ms. Polly’s bad attitude. I kind of like Mr. Dave, too, and I was major happy to have him back home.

 So, we are now almost two weeks into the recovery phase of Mr. Dave’s cancer ordeal.  This is new territory for us, so we are wading through each new experience as it occurs.  Primarily, the issue of Mr. Dave being in pain is the thing that bothers me most, just now.  I don’t like it one bit.  I can’t fix it. I’m all about trying to fix things and make it all better.  This pain thing I can’t fix.  I can only be there and joke with him about it.  Mr. Dave came back from hospital with his sense of humor intact.  Laughing and joking, for us, has been a good thing and a way to deal with his pain.  As well, we know the pain will fade as his body heals, and with time he will get his stamina back and move from being Mr. Dave, the exhausted, pain wracked survivor of robotic surgery, to Mr. Dave, the guy who used to have kidney cancer and feels like his old zippy self.  That’s a pretty darn awesome journey to be a part of….

Oh, and Mr. Dave said to be sure to let you all know he is getting a DVD recording of his surgery.  He is thrilled because he gets to see what they did to him while he was unconscious.  He is looking forward to viewing his innards and seeing how his tumor was removed.  I am not a blood and guts kind of gal, and I’m voting for leaving the DVD with the surgeon and just moving on. Also,  I forbade him to upload it to YouTube. There is enough of that sort of stuff hanging out there ….

I’m so grateful to the many folks who’ve helped us wade through this cancer thing. I want to thank my family for being there for us and especially my sister, Judy, for using her vacation time to come over to help us out. One day I’m gonna do a whole post about my sister. Growing up with her was so much fun, and she is just the neatest person. This is a picture I stole off of her daughter’s Facebook page. It’s one of my favorite Judy pictures. That’s her daughter, Dawn, with her. Mother’s Day 2012……                                                        

Other folks that I want to profusely thank are Becky Moir, Michele Kropf, and everyone from Portland Community College Willow Creek Campus and DHS branch offices who contributed time, effort, and funds to the “Support Mr. Dave raffle”.

 <=====That’s Becky!!!

Mr. Dave was totally blown away by the generosity of all the folks at Willow Creek and DHS.  You guys boosted his moral into the stratosphere. 

OK, here I go getting all snuffly and teary eyed yet again. Jeesh….. If I could grant eternal health and happiness to you all I’d do it in a microsecond!  

 <====== That’s Michele!!!

You made a huge impact with your donation. We thank you all for your charity, and we will pass that same gift of charity on to other folks needing a helping hand that we encounter throughout our lifetimes.  

You guys gifted Mr. Dave and I with so much more than the finances. You gifted the person I love more than myself with a sense of community at a time when he was feeling very much alone. You know that old saying “It takes a village”? Well, Mr. Dave went from feeling like he was an outsider to being part of the tribe. I don’t think he’ll ever forget your generosity. I know for sure that I won’t.                                                   

                                                

SPECIAL THANK YOU TO THE PCC AND DHS FOLKS

There are people who do good deeds on this planet. They do them because it’s just what they do. They have a gift for making the folks who come in contact with them feel included rather than excluded. They don’t ask for thanks for the work they perform. They putter on doing their job, sometimes under some pretty tense conditions. I know so very well the pressures and aggravations you all encounter on a daily basis in service to others. I hope you all realize what a positive impact you make in the lives of your clients and the communities they reside in. Most folks you serve won’t forget the kindness and consideration they received from you.

You guys do an incredible job.  You make a difference.  You give a gift that keeps on giving long after your clients have forgotten your name.  Lots of that good work you all do gets passed on in some fashion by each and every person who comes into contact with you.  Even those rat bastards who make you want to pull out your hair and run screaming from the building benefit from your consideration and, yes, kindness.  The words you say and the work you perform in service to others is important and sometimes under appreciated.  It’s what you all do; and, in my opinion, you all do it pretty darn well……

 

Oh my gosh, I am lecturing the choir!!!!  Well, that’s what us old retired foggie folks do.  We prattle on and tend to pass on our wisdom, whether the young uns want to hear it or not.  It’s what we do!  Thank you, thank you, thank you my PCC and DHS friends.  You are uber awesome peoples……

 

About Rennie

Welcome to my blog. My name is Rennie. I am 66 years old, retired, and married to a truck loving guy named Dave. We live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest within the state of Oregon, USA. We are a household of two humans and one senior citizen kitty. I named my blog after two things I love to do. MuddiWorks is what I call my studio (a.k.a. extra room in our house where I keep all my art stuff). Kitchen Spurts is the term I came up with to describe my forays into the kitchen to cook. I am presently involved in the exploration of what it's like to be a financially insecure retired person. My blogs will be about things that interest me, amuse me, or irk me. My blog is my vent place.
This entry was posted in Cancer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

