A Cheesecake Recipe

I made my favorite cheesecake recipe the other day.  It’s rich and smooth and lemony and decadent and quite tasty because I did not use fat free ingredients.  It’s cheesecake, by jiggies!  If you’re going to put forth the effort to make it yourself, you might as well make a fabulous one.   

Instead of using the 9-inch pie pan called for in the recipe,  I got out the pot pie pans and made 8 individual serving cheesecakes.  The individual servings are a convenient way to deal with portion control for two people.  This cheesecake freezes excellently, so I popped the extras into the freezer for future special treats.

This is the recipe I go to when I get in the mood to make cheesecake:

**Preheat oven to 325 degrees. 

                 Graham Cracker Crust

                       1 1/2 Cups graham cracker crumbs
                            4 Tablespoons granulated sugar
                            4 Tablespoons melted butter

In small bowl, place graham cracker crumbs, granulated sugar, and melted butter.

Using a spoon, mix together until crumbs and sugar are well combined and coated with the  melted butter.

Divide the crust mixture into 8 individual pot pie pans.  Using the back of a teaspoon, firmly press crumb mixture onto sides and bottom of pans. 

Place the 8 individual pans on two half sized sheet pans or on one large cookie sheet and bake in preheated oven for 10 minutes.  This will set the crust.

Next, make the filling.

 CHEESECAKE FILLING

2 8-ounce packages cream cheese at room temperature
1 cup sour cream at room temperature
1/2 cup white granulated sugar
Juice and rind of one lemon
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 Tablespoon melted butter
2 eggs, room temperature
2 teaspoons corn starch

 

Place room temperature cream cheese, sour cream, sugar, lemon juice, lemon rind, vanilla, and melted butter in mixing bowl.  Make sure your ingredients are at room temperature.  This will ensure that your finished cheesecake is smooth and creamy.  Please forgive the blurry pic of the scrumptious ingredients in bowl.  My photography skills are minimal.  Hopefully, with practice I may improve on my picture taking.

Using an electric mixer, beat until all ingredients are well blended and mixture is smooth.  Use a spatula and scrape down the bowl a couple of times to make sure all that good stuff is thoroughly combined.

Next, add eggs one at a time.  Blend each egg into mixture at low speed. before adding the next one. 

Lastly, add the corn starch and blend into rest of mixture at low speed.  The corn starch is my secret weapon.  It helps prevent cracks in the crust and also assists in giving the cooked filling a silky smooth texture. Scrape down the bowl a couple of times to ensure everything is well combined.  Cheesecake filling is done! 

 

 

Divide cheesecake filling between the eight pot pie pans.  Bake in 325 degree oven for 15 minutes, then remove from oven.  Filling at center will still be jiggly.  This is OK.  The residual heat from the cookie sheet  and pot pie pans will finish cooking the centers.

 

Allow individual portion cheesecakes to cool completely on cookie sheets.

Wrap cooled cheesecakes in plastic wrap.  Make sure your cheesecakes are thoroughly cooled before you wrap them in the plastic.  Place in refrigerator to chill  a few hours before serving. 

 

To freeze the extra portions, wrap each in foil and place in freezer.  To defrost, just pull them out of the freezer and place in the fridge overnight, or you can let them sit on the counter for about an hour. 

 

About Rennie

Welcome to my blog. My name is Rennie. I am 66 years old, retired, and married to a truck loving guy named Dave. We live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest within the state of Oregon, USA. We are a household of two humans and one senior citizen kitty. I named my blog after two things I love to do. MuddiWorks is what I call my studio (a.k.a. extra room in our house where I keep all my art stuff). Kitchen Spurts is the term I came up with to describe my forays into the kitchen to cook. I am presently involved in the exploration of what it's like to be a financially insecure retired person. My blogs will be about things that interest me, amuse me, or irk me. My blog is my vent place.
This entry was posted in Baking, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

