Pretty Cookies

I made some pretty cookies the other day. They turned out quite nicely. Yes, they are girlie cookies. They are meant to be savored with your beverage of choice while watching a marathon of Housewives of wherever.  When paired with a cup of your favorite libation, you will have created a bit of pretty cookie Nirvana.
The cookie is a basic rolled out sugar cookie. The icing is meringue butttercream.  The decorating technique is called marbling.
However did I learn how to make these beauties?  Well, it all started a few weeks ago when I was looking for some new cookie cutters.  I encountered a website during my search that had everything I was looking  for and more.  The more part was videos showing an array of cookie decorating techniques.  I learned how to make the dough, cut out the cookies, how to make the icing, and how to decorate the cookies.  A total cookie making training package on one site!

Karen’s Cookies is now my place to go to when I get an urge to make a batch of creative cookies.  Not only does Karen freely share her techniques and recipes, but she also sells a variety of cookie making products through her online store. Her prices and shipping costs are very reasonable.

Here is the recipe for both cookie and icing. Both of them are Karen’s recipes:

Basic Rolled Sugar Cookies

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup superfine sugar, or granulated sugar, processed in blender or food processor for 30 seconds
  • ½ tsp. Salt
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 2 tsp. Vanilla extract
  • ½ tsp. Almond extract or emulsion, optional
  • 2 ½ cups all-purpose flour

Cream butter, sugar and salt until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes with mixer set at medium speed.  Add yolk, beat well. Add whole egg, vanilla and optional almond extract and beat until well-incorporated. Add flour; beat at low speed just until flour is mixed in; do not over mix. Divide dough in halves or thirds and wrap in plastic wrap. Refrigerate until firm, at least one hour and up to 2 days.
Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Dust work surface and rolling pin with flour. Roll dough to 1/4″ thick, sprinkling with additional flour as needed to prevent sticking. Cut into desired shapes and place on parchment or silicone-lined pans. Bake in preheated oven until cookies appear dry on the surface and are light golden brown on the edges, about 10 minutes (very large cookies may take up to 12 or 13 minutes). Remove from cookie sheets to cooling racks and cool completely before decorating.

And the frosting:

Meringue Powder Buttercream
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 3 T. meringue powder
  • ½ cup shortening
  • 4 ½ cups powdered sugar (1 lb. 3 oz. If you have a scale)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract (use clear vanilla if you want a pure white icing)
  • ¼ tsp. almond extract
Place half of the powdered sugar and the meringue powder in the bowl of an electric mixer. Whisk together well. Turn on mixer (use whip attachment) and, while motor is running, slowly stream in the water. Mix until everything is incorporated. Turn mixer to high speed and whip until stiff peaks form. Add flavorings and mix well. Change to paddle attachment (for stand mixer) or dough hook (for Bosch). If using a hand mixer, use the same beaters you were using before. Add remaining powdered sugar and shortening and whip for 3 minutes more.
Note: Don’t skimp on the whipping time after adding the shortening. You really need to whip it well to prevent separation later.

So, if you get the urge to become a pretty cookie maker, visit Karen’s website and let a pro show you how you can do it, too.

 

About Rennie

Welcome to my blog. My name is Rennie. I am 66 years old, retired, and married to a truck loving guy named Dave. We live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest within the state of Oregon, USA. We are a household of two humans and one senior citizen kitty. I named my blog after two things I love to do. MuddiWorks is what I call my studio (a.k.a. extra room in our house where I keep all my art stuff). Kitchen Spurts is the term I came up with to describe my forays into the kitchen to cook. I am presently involved in the exploration of what it's like to be a financially insecure retired person. My blogs will be about things that interest me, amuse me, or irk me. My blog is my vent place.
This entry was posted in Cookies, Cooking, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

