French Fried Potatoes

.

                         Saturday’s fresh fruit and veggie score

Mr. Dave brings home a selection of lovely veggies and fruits each week when he does the grocery shopping.  My job is to wash the produce and put it away and cook meals with it.  I took the above picture this morning because I noticed how pretty it all looked.

But this day’s blog isn’t about eating healthy veggies. I just started this post with a picture of healthy stuff so we all could feel better about the rest of this post.  The rest of this post is going to tell you how I make French fried potatoes.  Yep, deep fried in oil and lightly sprinkled with sea salt fries.  If you are feeling the fat starting to creep onto your thighs as you are reading this, you might want to quit reading this post and move onto another.  I understand completely.  I do not judge…..

Mr. Dave’s favorite starch is the humble potato in the form of a thick-cut french fry.  This post is for you, Mr. Dave.

Step One:  Use the proper potato for the job

                Russet potato

The best potato to use for French fries is an Idaho russet potato.  It has a good starchy flesh that’s not too watery, and an excellent potato flavor.

Step Two:  Cut the potato correctly

            Cut the potato into thirds

No matter what the size of your potato, cut the potato into thirds.  I learned this potato cutting trick from chef Jamie Oliver when he demonstrated the proper way to make fish and chips.

          Cut each third into thirds

Next, cut each third of the potato into thirds.   This will give you nine equal-sized potato fries.  If you are not going to be cooking them immediately, place them in cold water until you are ready to cook them.

 

Step Three:   Heat The Oil

                Heat oil to 350 degrees

Place clean oil in pan large enough to do the job.  Corn oil is my preferred cooking oil for fries.  I use a wok which is sitting on a burner that heats to specific temperatures.  I set the temperature to 350 degrees to begin with.  If you don’t have this set up, you can use a candy thermometer to keep a watch on the temperature of the oil.

 

Step Four:  Dry Those  Fries

            Dry each fry completely.

While the oil is heating, remove fries from the cold water and dry them off thoroughly.  I usually don’t soak my potatoes before frying them.  I cut my fries while the oil is heating.  I blot them dry with paper towels to remove any surface moisture.  Any liquid left on the potato will cause the oil to spit, so you want each fry as dry as possible before placing it in the oil.

Step Five: Fry in Hot Oil

Place fries in oil and maintain oil temp at 350 degrees

Carefully transfer your blotted dry fries into the hot oil a few at a time until all the fries are in the pot.  Maintain the oil temperature at 350 degrees until potatoes begin to get brown.  This can take about 15 minutes or so depending on how many potatoes you are making.

Step Six:  The Secret To Crispy fries

When fries begin to get brown up heat to 400 degrees

The standard way to get a crispy fry is to remove the fries from the oil, before they are browned, cool down the fries,  then refry them until they are browned.  I say, who has the time to do all that!   This is what I do and it produces a perfect crispy fry equal to or better than the standard way. 
When the fries are slightly browned, up the heat to 400 degrees and continue frying them until they are browned to the level you prefer.  The higher heat at the end of the cooking process gives the fries a nice crispy outer coat.

Step Seven:  Drain and Enjoy

Remove fries from oil and drain on paper towels.  Sprinkle lightly with sea salt and serve.

Turn off heat under oil and, using a strainer, remove fries from oil and place on paper towels.  While fries are hot, sprinkle with sea salt.  I like Sonoma sea salt.  Actually, any salt will do.  Serve while still hot.
About Rennie

Welcome to my blog. My name is Rennie. I am 66 years old, retired, and married to a truck loving guy named Dave. We live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest within the state of Oregon, USA. We are a household of two humans and one senior citizen kitty. I named my blog after two things I love to do. MuddiWorks is what I call my studio (a.k.a. extra room in our house where I keep all my art stuff). Kitchen Spurts is the term I came up with to describe my forays into the kitchen to cook. I am presently involved in the exploration of what it's like to be a financially insecure retired person. My blogs will be about things that interest me, amuse me, or irk me. My blog is my vent place.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

