Yodel-ay-ee-hooo

Yodeling.  That’s what popped into my mind today.  I have no idea why that term showed up there and niggled for attention, but it did.  I dealt with it as best I could.  I quickly surveyed the room to make sure Mr. Dave was not present.  No need to involve someone who might mock me for this…..

I noted that only myself and two cats were in the vicinity.  Our cats understand my occasional odd behaviors.  They, themselves, are a little offbeat in their individual feline ways.  I was quite sure that they would understand my next action.  I yodeled out loud just to see what I sounded like. 

“YO…DE…LAY..EE…HOOOO….”

Two cats, who had been laying in various stages of nap, lifted up their heads, opened their eyes wide, and stared at me with suspicion. I expect they were confused.
 
“Is she yelling at us for doing something we’re not supposed to be doing, or is she just behaving a tad eccentric today?” 

“I don’t know.  Never heard her do that before.”

“Is she trying to sing along with Lady Gaga again, do you think?”

“No, it sounded worse than that.  What did you do wrong?”

“Not a thing!  I was just laying here on the rug napping, just like YOU were supposed to be doing!”

“That is exactly what I was doing, you moron!”

“YO…DE…LAY….DE….HI…..”

“There, she did it again!  Is she convulsing, do you think?”

“No, I don’t believe so.  Should we call 911?”

“We can’t use the phone, you moron!  We’re on our own, here!”

“Well, then, if that’s the case, I’m going to give her the best ‘quit doing that’ expression that I can muster up.”

“Good idea!  If we both give her that look, it should shut her up.  Be sure to lay your ears back a bit to emphasize that she is causing us agonizing pain…….”

“YO….DE…LAY…EE…HE..T..LAY…TE…DOOOOOO”

“It’s not working!  She’s still yelling at us!  What did YOU do wrong???”

“I have no idea what YOU did!  I, myself, am as innocent of wrongdoing as a newborn kitten!  However, just in case she is about to blow a gasket or two, I’m not remaining in the same room with you!  You brought this on your own head.  You deal with her!”

“No ways!  I’m outta here!  First kitty down the hall didn’t do it!”

Two elderly felines, with guilty minds intact, got to their feet as quickly as elderly felines can accomplish such movement,  and then raced down the hallway.  I don’t know who won the race, but I expect it was Carl.  He’s stout, but those chunky little legs can move fast when Carl’s got a purpose.

No cat in this household likes to be the loser in the race down the hallway and into a bedroom sanctuary area.  All sorts of blame for transgressions past and future are the reward for the loser in such a race.  It’s a pity.  Most times, the worst kitty transgressor wins the race.  I’m pretty sure that it’s an enormous emotional burden on the cat who was innocent of the current crime to lose this race.  Taking the blame for something one didn’t do is a hard cross to bear quietly.

So, I’d driven all cats from the room with my yodeling.  I sighed.  Perhaps, I was wrong to give into that urge.  I had disturbed sleeping cats with my yodeling.  That, I suppose, is bad karma…..

Since I was in the curious stage already, I figured I would do a bit of research on yodeling, and see what there was out there on the World Wide Web regarding the subject. 

I found a bonanza of information which I decided I should share with you all.  Everyone needs to know more than they presently do about yodeling!

If you want you read up on the subject, Wikipedia can fully inform you of the history and maybe even the reasons why yodeling exists on this planet. I’m pretty sure you will learn lots of stuff your friends don’t know on the subject by reading through this.

For those of you us who learn better by watching stuff on television, check out these videos which digitally captured the amazing art form known as yodeling:

  • Franz Lang is considered the best yodeler in the world.  I don’t know who decided this, mind you.
  • Elton Britt, one of the first American cowboy yodelers to attain fame.
  • Sourdough Slim, the yodeling cowboy. I liked this one.
  • Roy Rogers, the yodeling cowboy from my childhood days.  Anyone else remember Roy, Gail, and Trigger?
  • Jodel Time–I liked this one quite a bit.  A nice group of campy Swiss yodelers.
  • Swiss National Anthem  yodeled, of course.  When I think yodel, I think Swiss.
  • Yodeling Walmart cat, an insult to dignified cats worldwide but amusing non-the-less.

A final word regarding the subject of yodeling and what I learned today.  I learned that there are folks in the world who still yodel, probably on a daily basis.  Young people are carrying on the yodeling tradition, a fact I find both oddly comforting and slightly bizarre.  Cowboys used yodeling to calm the herds, and Swiss yodels are awesome sounding.   

Perhaps, I’ve inspired one or two of you to do a bit of yodeling today.  As long as you don’t disturb any nearby napping cats, I think it would be a dandy thing to do. 

                                                                           Feed your mind on a daily basis
                                                                           –Mata din hjärna på en daglig bas–

 

 

                                                                                                                                                                   
About Rennie

Welcome to my blog. My name is Rennie. I am 66 years old, retired, and married to a truck loving guy named Dave. We live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest within the state of Oregon, USA. We are a household of two humans and one senior citizen kitty. I named my blog after two things I love to do. MuddiWorks is what I call my studio (a.k.a. extra room in our house where I keep all my art stuff). Kitchen Spurts is the term I came up with to describe my forays into the kitchen to cook. I am presently involved in the exploration of what it's like to be a financially insecure retired person. My blogs will be about things that interest me, amuse me, or irk me. My blog is my vent place.
This entry was posted in Feed your mind, Humor and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

