Berry Almond Chicken Salad and Weird Weather

 

Wendy’s Berry Almond Chicken Salad is Back!!!

I believe I heard cheering crowds, marching bands, and saw fireworks spurting into the air in celebration of salad wonderfulness this afternoon. 
 
Mr. Dave, having performed above and beyond in the yard work department, took the last load of yard debris to the recyclers and returned with lunch from Wendy’s.  Inside my Wendy’s bag was a happy surprise.  Instead of the expected chicken apple and blue cheese crumbles salad there was this magnificent Berry Almond Chicken Salad.  When Wendy’s puts this salad back on the menu, you gotta believe that summer is on its way.
 
This is all the tasty good stuff that is in this salad:  a bed of chilled spring mix lettuce leaves, fresh blueberries, fresh strawberries, shaved Asiago cheese, and grilled chicken.  You get a packet of toasted slivered almonds and two packets of fat-free raspberry vinaigrette to sprinkle over all that salad goodness. 
 
It was yumalicious. I totally love their fat-free raspberry vinaigrette.  I could bathe in that stuff!  I don’t know how long they will have this on their menu, but I’m hoping to indulge in another one or two of these during the summer months. 
 
Speaking of  summer months, June is almost upon us and we are still having cold, wet, weird weather here.  Late yesterday afternoon we had downpours of wind driven, heavy rain and so much hail that our street was white from it.  Along with all that wildness was some major thunder and lightening.  The lightening was pretty scary as a bolt of it struck  somewhere in our immediate neighborhood.  We’re hoping it just hit the ground or a tree and nobody’s house got struck.  What an experience that was, the flash, crackle, and boom when the lightening bolt hit caused the house to shake and sent the cats scurrying under the beds.  It got so stormy that the satellite television went out for about thirty minutes during the worst of the rain and hail. 
 
Today the weather is back to the regular old springtime Pacific Northwest weather pattern of sun breaks between rain showers.  It won’t be long before everyone is grumping because it hasn’t rained for weeks and it’s too hot.  I will be one of those people, no doubt. 
 
OK, I need to get shut down the computer and go to bed.  Hope those of you who have a Wendy’s nearby can try the Berry Almond Chicken salad before it’s out of season,  it is excellent. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 




About Rennie

Welcome to my blog. My name is Rennie. I am 66 years old, retired, and married to a truck loving guy named Dave. We live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest within the state of Oregon, USA. We are a household of two humans and one senior citizen kitty. I named my blog after two things I love to do. MuddiWorks is what I call my studio (a.k.a. extra room in our house where I keep all my art stuff). Kitchen Spurts is the term I came up with to describe my forays into the kitchen to cook. I am presently involved in the exploration of what it's like to be a financially insecure retired person. My blogs will be about things that interest me, amuse me, or irk me. My blog is my vent place.
This entry was posted in Food, Miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Berry Almond Chicken Salad and Weird Weather

  1. Also my favorite Wendy's salad. I like the dressing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

