My Spice Sage Is My Spice Headquarters

Spice market in Jaipur

Whenever I think of the spices I use in my cooking, I immediately get a mental image of exotic spice markets in far off locations like India or Morrocco.  Can you just imagine the aromas contained therein?     

Spices are an important ingredient in the dishes I like to prepare.  Depending upon the type of spice and how it is used, spices can add a subtle hint or a big zing of flavor to food.  Spices are what our taste buds require to begin that emotional connection between a dish served up, and the memory created or evoked by the combination of food, event, taste, smell, and feel………

Oh, gads, this is getting way to scientific sounding……..Let’s just say, spices are a good thing.  Having a variety of them available in your pantry is a better thing.  Having a really neat place to buy them is the best thing of all, which is what I’m talking about today.  Today I want to tell you about where I like to purchase the cooking spices I use.

My spice merchant of choice is an online store called My Spice Sage.  I love the wide selection of products available from this merchant. Prices are fair, and shipping is free to USA locations.  They sell in quantities from one ounce (perfect amount for us home cooks) to pounds.  I’ve never had one item I’ve purchased from them that has been less than stellar. Nope, I am not related to the owners nor do I receive compensation for touting their products.  I just have to give a shout out to the world, when I encounter a shop that has proved itself worthy of mass patronage.

Why do I love this store?

Brown chipotle powder

Because they sell brown chipotle powder.  This stuff is so perfect that I have to pause and smile when I think of it.  So many wonderful things does this spice enhance.  Think spicy dry rub ingredient lovingly massaged into a rack of baby back ribs.  After a slow, long bake in a low set oven, you have pork perfection. 
When you want to add a smoky heat to a recipe, this is the spice to  buy. 

 Smoky heat!  That’s what brown chipotle powder provides.

Garam Masala

Because they sell a tasty garam masala blend.  Garam masala is a combination of spices used for flavoring Indian curries.  It isn’t a flaming hot spice mixture.  Rather it is savory and warm with a hint of cinnamon and clove.  Curries are not all you can do with this spice blend.  It’s excellent rubbed into any meat or fish before grilling. It also works well with veggie and lentil dishes. 


My Spice Sage has a variety of masala mixes to choose from.  Garam masala happens to be my favorite of them all.

Ground Bay Leaves

Because they sell ground bay leaves.  Just your regular laurel bay leaf ground into a fine powder.  A nice way to add that bay leaf flavor without having to fish out the bay leaf afterwards.


I like to add it to the mix of spices I rub into pork chops or chicken before baking.  

Sonoma Sea Salt

Because they sell Sonoma Sea Salt.  I never used sea salt until I tasted this one.  I believe I had a revelation of Biblical proportions that day.  What a difference the flavor was compared to good old Morton’s.  I still use Morton’s from time to time, mind you, but my world has opened up in respect to salt varieties.  I get it.  Sea salts taste amazing and there is a subtle difference in flavor depending upon which sea the salt is taken from. 

My Spice Sage carries a wide variety of sea salts, including Celtic and Himalayan Pink.  Oh, and I can’t forget their smoked salts.  Excellent on fries, steak, or as a flavorful finishing salt.


 

Turkey Brine Seasoning

Because they sell the best ever Turkey Brine Seasoning.  Not just for Thanksgiving; or, for that matter, not just for turkey.


This is good as a brine for chicken, pork, and lamb.  You dissolve some of this brine seasoning in water and then soak your meat of choice in the brine for  a bit  and the reward is flavorful and juicy meats.
Think rotisserie roasted chicken with flavorful juicy meat and a crispy succulent skin. 

Because…..well, you get the idea.  My Spice Sage is a great resource for us folks who  enjoy cooking and want to have the spices we use on hand without it costing an arm or a leg to purchase them. 

Spouses who flinch at the cost of a small container of supermarket dried herbs will appreciate My Spice Sage. (Just ask Mr. Dave, who hyperventilates whenever he sees any kind of dried herb or spice listed on our grocery list.)  Example:  a one ounce, by weight, package of dried thyme leaves from My Spice Sage sells for $2.75 versus $5.00 plus for a similar amount of a store brand.  That’s a lot of thyme for the money!  Sorry, pun intended here.  I couldn’t help myself.  

It’s also a green thing to do.  Instead of tossing out those empty store bought spice jars, refill them with spices from My Spice Sage. 

OK, message delivered.  I’m going back to what I was doing before I had this thought.  Happy cooking, my spice loving friends……

About Rennie

Welcome to my blog. My name is Rennie. I am 66 years old, retired, and married to a truck loving guy named Dave. We live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest within the state of Oregon, USA. We are a household of two humans and one senior citizen kitty. I named my blog after two things I love to do. MuddiWorks is what I call my studio (a.k.a. extra room in our house where I keep all my art stuff). Kitchen Spurts is the term I came up with to describe my forays into the kitchen to cook. I am presently involved in the exploration of what it's like to be a financially insecure retired person. My blogs will be about things that interest me, amuse me, or irk me. My blog is my vent place.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food, Online Store and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

