My Old Blog Died

Free stuff is a good thing.  I like free stuff.  But, sometimes, free stuff lets you down.  I use, as a sad example,  my old blog, MuddiWorks, may it rest in peace.
 
It was no one’s fault that it went away……  Well, that’s not entirely true.  It was my fault.  I killed it in a fit of irked miff…….  Actually, it wasn’t entirely all my fault!  Google had a modest part in the demise of MuddiWorks.  It was, after all, that wretched log in issue that drop kicked me over the edge.  Well, that and my impatience…..Everyone has a fault or two…I am probably no exception to  this fact…….. 

One day, I wanted to blog.  I had stuff to say and cute graphics to upload.  As I’d done a zillion times (exaggerated number) before, I typed in my user id and password.    They didn’t work!  No matter what I did, I couldn’t get signed into my FREE, GMAIL account.  I tried with all the computeristic abilities I possessed to log in. And what did I receive in return for this effort?………Nada…..

I figured that faulty data entry probably was responsible for the denial. That’s the usual reason when things like this happen.   I decided that it might be best if my fingers typed under the keen scrutiny of my eyes………. 

My fingers twitched with anticipation.  They were ready to blog.  I think they were a bit sorry for any inconvenience they might have caused…….I’m not certain of this…….but they probably were…..I’m quite certain that all ten of them felt a tad bit or two of righteous smugness when entry into my FREE GMAIL account was once again denied, even when each keystroke was perfectly entered under strict observation by a pair of eagle sharp eyes……….. 

I wasn’t overly concerned at this point.  Occasionally, these things happen. Systems crash, techs need time to fix stuff, etc….etc….. I decided that maybe I should begin searching for a solution on my end, just in case. Certainly there must be an online user’s manual somewhere in the land of Google+ that would provide guidance. 

I spent close to two hours locating and reading over instructions regarding log in errors and how to overcome them.  It appeared that the easiest way for me to gain access to my GMAIL account and, thus, to my beloved MuddiWorks blog, was to simply request a reset of my password………..a simple plan is the best plan……..

I located the appropriate form and filled it out.  I submitted my request.  Within seconds, a message appeared onscreen informing me that my FREE GMAIL password had been reset.  Instructions on what to do next were waiting for me in my Yahoo mail in box.  I zipped over to my Yahoo account to retrieve the email.  I carefully followed the instructions provided.  Next, it was back to the GMAIL log in box where I carefully typed in my user id and my new password.  It didn’t work…….sigh…….now, what do I do????

What I did was enter that new password a few more times becoming increasingly frustrated, and possibly irate, as I did so.  Eventually, I decided to give it up and go to bed.  It was late and I was tired and probably when you’re tired your fingers make subtle typing errors that eagle sharp eyes don’t notice……Yep, that’s probably what was happening.  I was not alert enough to address this issue properly.  I would deal with it all tomorrow morning when I was rested……yep, tomorrow was another day…….

The next morning, I was determined to gain entry.  There were probably super important emails which required my immediate attention waiting for me in my GMAIL in box!  Well, probably not super important.  It didn’t really matter if they were important or not because I couldn’t get into the dratted account to read them!  My newest password didn’t work any better in the morning than it had the previous night.  I needed to find out what to do next to solve my password rejection issue. …….rejection is never a good thing………

Finding out how to fix the problem required more reading through screen after screen of explanations listing the possible reasons why I couldn’t sign into my FREE GMAIL account.  I even went searching through the World Wide Web to see if anyone else on the planet had encountered a similar problem.  I learned that, worldwide, there were zillions (exaggerated number) of frustrated members of humanity who had posted, many in anger, about their experience with GMail sign-in issues.  Not one of them had been successful with their attempts to fix their log in issues without formally requesting customer service assistance. This was a concern to me…… Free stuff can lead to mob anger…..

I think I became a bit frantic as I read through all the helpful hints I came across.  Nothing  that was suggested I do worked. In deeper denial and, possibly, mounting desperation, I requested yet another reset of my password.  That didn’t work either.  I gave up on a new password solving my log in issue, and began the embarrassing journey towards letting the guys at Google+ know that I was an incompetent boob and needed technical assistance, pronto.
I located the online form that would forward my request for technical assistance to the proper Google+ department.  There were lines in small print on the request for technical assistance form alerting me to the fact that it could take a week or more to help me out………sighhhhhhhhh……After submitting the request for help form, I was forwarded on to a screen that displayed a new form which ignited such hellish fury in me that I lost my temper.  The form was a simple one.  I could get immediate technical assistance for the cost of $2.00 by email, or $3.00 by phone.  Just provide credit card info, and immediate help was available……..NOT FREE……….

Ape shit is the term I would apply to my mental state when I encountered that last form.  Emotions enraged, I waded through more helpful how to pages until I located an official Google+ customer service survey form.   “Tell us how we’re doing!”……..I spewed a righteous venting into that little comment box.  How dare they ask for money for a FREE service.  I don’t want to wait a week for help and I’m damn well not gonna pay to cut in front of a line full of my fellow locked out users because that’s an impolite thing to do………I am nothing if not politely oriented…….

Venting made me feel better about things.  When I was done telling them a thing or two, I hit the send button with savage pleasure. I wasn’t sorry for bitching out the invisible customer service professionals who probably wouldn’t read my rant anyways.  Perhaps I’m just an optimistic sort; or, maybe, my wild rant had awakened me to a sense of  kumbaya with the world,  not unlike a Hershey chocolate bar would normally do……chocolate is the answer to all things irksome………

Instead of going off to play a game of Bookworm, to sooth my peeved state, I decided to muck about the World Wide Web one last time seeking answers.  Wouldn’t you know it that within ten minutes I came across a possible solution to my dilemma.  Yep! Someone on planet earth had figured it out and had posted how they got back into their GMAIL account through a link they had set up between Yahoo and Gmail.  Don’t ask me how it was done, I couldn’t tell you.  I just followed step-by-step what the guy said to do and, by jingies, it worked!

I was back in! The guy who posted his solution said the next step after signing in would be to reset my GMAIL password.  The new password, he assured, would work where all others had failed.  I believed him. He was a survivor, impassioned enough by his run in with the sign in issue to post his experience world wide.  I filled out the appropriate Google form and promptly received a Yahoo email informing me my password had once again been reset.

I carefully signed into my FREE GMAIL account with my newest password.  It worked!  Hallelujah!!! I could blog again and read emails and everything was back to normal.  I even felt a twinge of embarrassment at having vented so meanly on that customer service survey. I was an asshole and sorry for my harsh criticism.  It was late at the time and I was sleepy.  It was time for me to go to bed and sleep the sleep of the victorious…….  I shut down my computer and went to bed. …… Tomorrow I would blog!!

Tomorrow arrived as it usually does.  I turned my computer on and promptly went to the FREE GMAIL log in box confident that all past sign in issues were done and over with.  I entered my id and the new password carefully. I struck the Enter key on my keyboard and…………………..^$%##*$^#%#&$^$%      

I couldn’t get in!  I was flabbergasted, flummoxed, and, above all else, furious. This led to actions understandable of a user of FREE services.   I wigged out and deleted my blog and my FREE GMAIL account……..Yep, it was I who killed MuddiWorks…….but some of the blame, apart from my impatient self, is Goggle’s.  Not all of us users of FREE services are computer geeks!  We who are not geeks need simple solutions and immediate response to our log in issues!  It is unacceptable to cater to our stupidity by having us pay even a piddly $2 or $3 for immediate customer service.  Just make it so the damn log in system works right in the first place, please!

I’ve set up a new GMAIL account.  It works spiffy.  No problems with passwords not working, thus far.  I like Google + and will continue to use it, but I’m not paying a dime for what is supposed to be a free service.  I’m being an old grumpy biddy about this, but so be it.  That’s how I feel.

I quite like the Google Blogger system.  It’s easy for a newbie blogger, such as myself, to use and it’s listed by those who evaluate blogger systems as the best free blogging program on the market today.  I tend to agree with them. 

Due to technical stuff that I’m probably never going to willingly understand, I had to change the name of my new blog to MuddiWorks & Kitchen Spurts. The claim to my old blog name, MuddiWorks, is attached to my dead as a doornail former GMail addy. That’s OK with me. I kind of like this new name better.

About Rennie

Welcome to my blog. My name is Rennie. I am 66 years old, retired, and married to a truck loving guy named Dave. We live in the beautiful Pacific Northwest within the state of Oregon, USA. We are a household of two humans and one senior citizen kitty. I named my blog after two things I love to do. MuddiWorks is what I call my studio (a.k.a. extra room in our house where I keep all my art stuff). Kitchen Spurts is the term I came up with to describe my forays into the kitchen to cook. I am presently involved in the exploration of what it's like to be a financially insecure retired person. My blogs will be about things that interest me, amuse me, or irk me. My blog is my vent place.
This entry was posted in Humor, Rants and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

